Lewes Forum thread

Go on, tell 'em what you think

Lewes Forum New message

bike ride

On 15 Nov 2012 at 10:27pm paul wrote:
Hi i'm new to lewes does anyone know where theres any good off road mountain bike routes around lewes
On 15 Nov 2012 at 11:56pm Dave wrote:
From The Swan along juggs lane to Kingston along Kingston ridge and up Kingston hill.
Turn left along the south downs way and follow it through southeram over the river, rail line and road then up the hill and along to firle beacon, down to a27 along and across into Glynde, turn left at junction in centre of village 50yds though style up to Mt Caburn then down and up or round top to golf course, down Chapel Hill,
Self congratulate pint in pub in Cliffe.
A great 3 or 4 hours, even better in torrential rain.
On 16 Nov 2012 at 1:20am V wrote:
Stanmer Park! Lots of good bike trails around there

On 16 Nov 2012 at 7:33am High roller wrote:
hello
check out highrollersmtb.org.
Mountain biking club in Lewes

On 16 Nov 2012 at 7:47am trek wrote:
link below to a comprehensive guide to the downs routes.

Check it out here »

On 16 Nov 2012 at 8:09am Fit car driver wrote:
Dave, I got worn out just reading that.

On 16 Nov 2012 at 8:36am Pete wrote:
Start at the base of Offham Hill and head west !!

On 16 Nov 2012 at 9:46am Ducatipete wrote:
Head for Firle Beacon then SDW to Jevington and down to Friston Forest where there are lots of dedicated rides and trails. Then back to Alfriston etc. Firle Beacon west on SDW is brilliant you end up at Blackcap and back to Lewes.

On 16 Nov 2012 at 10:02am someone else wrote:
paul - everywhere! Downs is great for XC, there's not much DH about but as Ducatipete says, there's some good singletrack fun to be had in Friston Forest.
If you fancy a proper trip out, jump on the train to Portslade, go up past Foredown Tower to get on the SDW, then trundle back, turning off to come back into Lewes at Black Cap.

On 16 Nov 2012 at 10:24am paul wrote: