Lewes Forum thread

Go on, tell 'em what you think

Lewes Forum New message

Saddened by Nevill Bonfire Night

On 21 Oct 2012 at 2:19pm Concerned resident wrote:
I have been a resident of Lewes for over two decades and have always thoroughly enjoyed both Nevill Bonfire night and Guy Fawkes Night. Unfortunately however, in recent years, I have begun to notice a definite decline in the sort of behaviour prevalent at these events.
Last night, for the first time, I was put off going up to watch the firework display by the drunken, anti-social behaviour I saw rife on the streets. I was forced to disappoint my young niece and nephew (who were very keen to watch the display) because I did not want to expose them to such behaviour. Furthermore, I was shocked to see this morning that one of the local shops on the Nevill estate had been vandalised in the night, for the first time in 24 years as the proprietor informed me.
I would be very sorry indeed to have such a beloved Lewes institution ruined again by the sort of behaviour I saw last night
On 21 Oct 2012 at 4:10pm bubblegran wrote:
Couldn't agree more where did all those kids come from, many of them, particularly the girls, looked far too young to be drinking and most weren't watching the parade at all, such a shame when so much effort is put into staging the night.
On 21 Oct 2012 at 4:31pm Ed Can Do wrote:
This is what happens when the police are too busy looking out for bonfire boys dropping rookies to bother with a bit of basic crowd control and enforcing far more useful laws like the ones against underage drinking and street drinking.

One does wonder what the parents of these kids thought they were doing though. My parents would have murdered me if I came home drunk at that age.
On 21 Oct 2012 at 5:10pm Rob Roy wrote: