Lewes Forum thread

Go on, tell 'em what you think

Lewes Forum New message

Lewes Parking

On 2 Jul 2009 at 1:57pm dezza wrote:
Are you sure the local Parking Order is legal in Lewes? The law rrequires that the county council consult with Sussex Police before such an Order becomes law. You may like to ask Sussex Police and ESCC the nature and extent of the consultation, and you may (surprise, surprise!) find that neither has any record of consultation, indeed the CC don't keep any records of it. Now, this is fine if a Parking Order is Primary Legislation (ie an Act of Parliament), but whilst I'm no lawyer my understanding is that whilst the existence of Primary Legislation doesn't need to be proven in a Court, secondary and tertiary legislation does. Which begs the question that if ESCC can't prove they have consulted they can't prove that their Parking orders are lawful, and if this is so they have no lawful right to issue tickets. Maybe a conundrum???

On 2 Jul 2009 at 10:46pm Spinster Of This Parish wrote:
Good point. I suspect, if challenged, that a fair and reasonable judge would find it unlawful.
I always understood it was supposed to be a "residents" car parking scheme yet the scheme has been extended to all and sundry. Don't get me wrong, I have no problem with businesses and visitors to the town being able to park, but I find it ironic that the people the scheme was supposed to help the ones being penalised for it (oversubscribed zones and closure of car parking areas).

On 4 Jul 2009 at 7:38pm grumpy trader wrote:
think many of the spaces are not legal and contrvine the highway code . the western end of grange road, has spaces marked over a give way line, there are many examples of this, and what explanation is there for marked bays outside homebase on the pavement, if its private land how can ncp police that, if its public highway why can we all park on the pavement ?

On 6 Jul 2009 at 5:43pm Keeley wrote: