Lewes Forum thread

Go on, tell 'em what you think


Lewes Forum New message

Greentopia

22
18
On 25 Jul 2017 at 8:46am Marco wrote:
Our bin has not been emptied for the last couple of weeks. No reply to phone calls. Anyone know if they've gone bust?
16
17
On 25 Jul 2017 at 9:02am Cancellation wrote:
I sent a cancellation letter into the Lewes address and had my letter returned in the post and told to try synergy waste

Check it out here »
16
24
On 25 Jul 2017 at 9:39am Deja Vu wrote:
Our collection day is Thursday, the week before last (our last collection) was missed, but they did turn on the next day and emptied it.
Maybe yours was running behind too.
I am hoping they turn up this week now you've said this...
16
24
On 25 Jul 2017 at 10:05am Rookie wrote:
Mine was done as normal yesterday
12
23
On 25 Jul 2017 at 10:24am Just me wrote:
My mums has been missed twice now (although she did get the last one collected but late)
If you manage to get through then please let us know!
14
15
On 25 Jul 2017 at 11:40am Flyboy wrote:
Mine should have been collectef last Tuesday. Hope they come today. No response to phone or email.
8
10
On 25 Jul 2017 at 12:01pm Deja Vu wrote:
As a side thought I didn't sign up for the service through greentopia, it was done directly through LDC (who have their own contact number for the service):
01273 471600
Please post an update of how you get on with this.

Check it out here »
10
14
On 25 Jul 2017 at 12:05pm Deja Vu wrote:
And I just checked the calendar which shows a different day to the day we were told (maybe this explains it).

Check it out here »
15
9
On 25 Jul 2017 at 9:08pm DAWNT wrote:
Does anybody know what is going on? I spoke to someone in the council and they advised to go to Trading Standards.
9
13
On 26 Jul 2017 at 5:49am look back in anger wrote:
Compost it
9
11
On 26 Jul 2017 at 6:52am David Hitchin wrote:
Recently the directors resigned, replaced by one new one, they disengaged from Synergywastesolutions which held their 60,001 shares, their office moved from Hove to London and their last published balance sheet (2016) showed that they owed far more than their assets were worth. There have been no collections in Seaford since before the 18th, and promises to call by the end of last week were not kept. On Monday I had the promise of a collection yesterday (not done) or today.
5
7
On 26 Jul 2017 at 8:10am Green fingers wrote:
I signed up for the green waste service via LDC. They collected a day late last time. If they don't turn up then I'll be expecting LDC to fulfil their contractual agreement and remove green waste for the remainder of my 12 month term!
12
12
On 26 Jul 2017 at 9:55am David Hitchin wrote:
Following on from my previous message, the Greentopia phone was not answered this morning, and the automatic reply was that "the mailbox is full and can't received more messages"
Draw your own conclusions!
7
8
On 26 Jul 2017 at 10:01am Flyboy wrote:
Received this email this morning.
Thank you for your email. I am sorry for the delay. I can confirm that we are attempting to collect as many missed bins as possible.
Unfortunately the Van in your area was out of action for longer than we would have expected leading to further delays. I will do my best to ensure that your collection takes place later this week, if not the collections will be back to the usual as of next week.
Thank you for your patience
Ryan
Greentopia
WATCH THIS SPACE
5
9
On 26 Jul 2017 at 11:08am Kate White wrote:
Ryan from Greentopia just responded 47 mins ago to an email regarding non-collection. See below, they have a van out of action this area. Just a question of being patient for a while longer IMHO.
****************
contact@greentopiasussex.com
10:19 (48 minutes ago)
to me
Thank you for your email. I am sorry for the delay. I can confirm that we are attempting to collect as many missed bins as possible.
Unfortunately the Van in your area was out of action for longer than we would have expected leading to further delays. I will do my best to ensure that your collection takes place later this week, if not the collections will be back to the usual as of next week.
Thank you for your patience
Ryan
Greentopia
8
6
On 26 Jul 2017 at 11:23am Notsogreen wrote:
They appear to have only one collection vehicle. I suspect things are not perhaps as they once were with Greentopia, which is a pity.
7
8
On 26 Jul 2017 at 12:10pm Deja Vu wrote:
I have checked and our bin has an LDC sticker on it and that's who we paid the money to, so for them to advise going to Trading Standard is very poor.
I will be doing that if the service doesn't materialise, but it will be LDC I am complaining about and seeking a refund from.
8
2
On 26 Jul 2017 at 1:38pm 3 Councils and you get wrote:
The Unholy Trinity.
8
4
On 27 Jul 2017 at 8:59am Greentopia customer wrote:
They used to be very reliable but have become shonky. I'm going to switch to LDC when it's due for renewal
9
14
On 31 Jul 2017 at 5:45pm Claire Smith wrote:
For a month now I have tried to cancel my contract and request confirmation that the next direct debit will not be taken.
I had a swift response from Ryan staying that the contract and the direct debit remain active. They are refusing to accept my cancellation. I am thinking Trading Standards may gave to get involved if they go ahead and take next direct debit.
7
5
On 31 Jul 2017 at 8:45pm Notsogreen wrote:
For Claire Smith. All you have to do is cancel your direct Debit with your bank, it's a simple as that. Greentopia won't be able to collect from a cancelled Direct Debit, your contract naturally expires if you don't renew it at the annual renewal invitation.
7
12
On 1 Aug 2017 at 11:54am David Hitchin wrote:
At last! Our bin was emptied this morning, two weeks late. It would have been better if Greentopia had told us this sooner rather than promising two earlier collections which did not happen. They have a website; that is where they need to post timely and realistic information.
4
3
On 1 Aug 2017 at 3:38pm Gary Harris wrote:
Greentopia was sold on 02/06/2017 to the sole Director Brandon Bezuidenhout so they are not connected in any way to the former owners (Synergy Waste Solutions). Greentopia answered my phone call this morning and my email this afternoon, i dialed 0844 272 6054 and emailed contact@greentopiasussex.com

Check it out here »
3
7
On 10 Aug 2017 at 7:43pm Barry Hyder wrote:
I have been through all the above, phoned and emailed greentopia with no response apart from them telling me lies when they first failed to collect my bin on Wednesday 19th July. I have now subscribed to the Lewes District Council scheme and have already received my bin and collection dates. Everything points to them having gone bust.
4
6
On 28 Aug 2017 at 5:11pm Seaford Gardener wrote:
We have been having the same problem in Seaford. My last collection was August 2nd and I agree with all the other comments made having received similar emails and waiting 15 minutes to be put through on the phone. When I did speak to Ryan he told me my collection was Tuesday and then corrected this to Wednesday when I said it was always the latter. I duly cancelled my renewal direct debit (due next week) and emailed an Greentopia advising them which prompted a quick reply asking me to leave the bin out for collection!! The bin is now full to the brim! I am now arranging for LDC to collect my waste.
5
4
On 30 Aug 2017 at 3:23pm M Petch wrote:
Does any one know what is happening with Greentopia I'm in Seaford and my bin was not collected today. They have been very reliable up to now but was told today they have gone bust. I haven't been able to get an answer to phone calls, so I am starting to believe the rumours.
5
4
On 30 Aug 2017 at 3:28pm WDC+ Veolia wrote:
Seem to manage OK outside the Lewes bubble.
8
4
On 31 Aug 2017 at 5:43pm David Hitchin wrote:
Our bin in Seaford was due to be emptied on Tuesday 29th August, but ours, like the others in the street was not collected. I phoned on Wednesday and they told me that they would try to collect on Thursday. Nothing happened!
I tried to phone them using the number which worked on Tuesday, the one on their website. There was a recorded message from a firm which said that it had managed their calls, but their number was now disconnected. It is up to Greentopia to arrange if they want it reconnected.
This is not good news.
4
7
On 1 Sep 2017 at 12:39pm Gary Harris wrote:
There seems to be no way of contacting Greentopia! Having tried everything possible I have visited their yard in Ditching but there was nobody there. Their vehicle has been parked up and unmoved for a couple of weeks according to another business on the industrial estate. I have found what appears to be the owner's home address on Companies House (this is publicly available information)... Mr Brandon Bezuidenhout, The Old Barn, Lutterworth Road, North Kilworth, Lutterworth, LE17 6JF. I think I shall write to him there.

Check it out here »
6
8
On 1 Sep 2017 at 1:56pm David Hitchin wrote:
I have just received a reply to my email. "Thank you for your email, I am sorry to hear that the collection has not been completed if you could please provide me with the full address. I will have this arranged at the earliest possible date.Thank you Ryan Greentopia. The full address was in the email, and this reply suggests dishonesty rather than mere incompetence.
For official communications with Greentopia, their address registered with Companies House is 3 Cedar Court, Royal Oak Yard, London, England, SE1 3GA. A place to send claims as creditors for the unused time on our contracts if the company goes into administration or goes bankrupt and if there are any assets left.
1
3
On 14 Sep 2017 at 11:31am Stan wrote:
They're over a week late collecting my bin too. I tried contacting them through the 'missed collections' form on their website but didn't get any reply so I emailed them on the contact@greentopiasussex.com address. I received a reply the following day but it was the same text as David Hitchin detailed above. I followed up the email but haven't received anything back. Bin is overflowing.
Thinking of changing but is the LDC service also supplied though Greentopia or someone else.
1
1
On 18 Sep 2017 at 10:08pm norman wrote:
A miracle has happened the garden waste in our Greentopia bin was collected today (in Fitzjohns Road , Lewes). After missing two scheduled collection (Sept 11 and August 28) they have collected on the right day but the wrong week!
2
8
On 22 Sep 2017 at 9:11am Sue wrote:
Just collected our bins here in Peacehaven after a couple of missed collections - again right day, wrong week.
2
4
On 26 Sep 2017 at 2:15pm Stan wrote:
They've collected my bin from Saltdean today. Right day, wrong week. I'm sensing a pattern here!
2
1
On 12 Oct 2017 at 9:27am Tony Whitman wrote:
After a couple of collections in September they failed to turn up on the allotted day in Brighton yesterday. I am trying to be half glass full but after previous experiences I am starting to fear the worst again! How could such a reliable company in the past get so unreliable?
4
5
On 13 Oct 2017 at 7:25pm Annie TC wrote:
My bin in Hove hasn't been collected since the end of August. I have had email correspondence with Greentopia assuring me it would be collected on several occasions but nothing happens. More worryingly, a neighbour has just told me Greentopia have taken 78 from her bank account even though the renewal is not due until next spring. I would strongly suggest you cancel the direct debit with your bank as soon as possible.
11
3
On 14 Oct 2017 at 11:13am Southcoast Girl wrote:
Having same problems with Greentopia in Ovingdean/Rottingdean. They are ridiculous! Lots of empty promises and missed collections I am so disappointed as they were really good and have just gone downhill rapidly. Is there any merit in everyone getting together to issue a CCJ or similar? A larger joint action might actually carry more weight than individuals trying to get their money back and reading the various forums it seems that an individual action would be futile. I absolutely hate it when you don't get the service you pay for ......... makes me so mad!


This thread has reached its limit now
Why not start another one


 

Impending Sheep 45:132
Impending Sheep

Clean your own place. Most people do. more
QUOTE OF THE MOMENT
Those who expect to reap the blessings of freedom must, like men, undergo the fatigue of supporting it.
Thomas Paine