Lewes Forum thread

Go on, tell 'em what you think

Lewes Forum New message

Flooding in Lewes

On 31 Jul 2008 at 11:42am Lizzie wrote:
Hello there
I am brand new to this forum.
I am a student and currently doing a project on flooding in Lewes, and whether responses to the floods of 2000 were appropriate or whether more should have been/could be done. Do any of you have any views on this?
thanks
Lizzie

On 31 Jul 2008 at 12:50pm Taff wrote:
I cant really help Lizzie but there many who can and probably will but to cut a long story short, basically NOTHING has been done to prevent or minimise further occurances.
Try Norman Bakers Office.

On 31 Jul 2008 at 12:51pm big t wrote:
lizzie
shipping used to come up through Lewes and go right up to barcombe mills it was a navigable river then.I would think it could have been avoided if we spent less on what we cant see or use I.E trips into space and more on protecting what we have on this side of the Earths atmosphere a lot of this crap could be avoided.If the Ouse was dredged like it used to be it would not have happend. there are no flood plains for water to go its all drains and ditches.When and why they stopped god only knows. hope this is helpful
"BIG T"

On 31 Jul 2008 at 1:26pm ouse wrote:
May be worth contacting Lewes Flood Action, who have been pressing for improved flood defences in the town. Their website is www.lewes-flood-action.org.uk
There is a copy of the official report in to the flooding in Lewes library for background reading.
The majority of Malling now has much improved flood defences thanks to the flood wall alongside the supermarket car park and malling playing fields.
However, this does not help the other parts of the town that were affected

On 31 Jul 2008 at 6:19pm Doink the clown wrote:
I cant help either only to say it wasnt down to me over-squirting my fake flower that is pinned to my shirt pocket!
He he he! HONK HONK!!

On 31 Jul 2008 at 7:28pm BONYAK wrote: