Lewes Forum thread

Go on, tell 'em what you think

Lewes Forum New message

Am I odd?

On 26 Jul 2012 at 2:18pm Louise wrote:
I have lived in Lewes all my life (40 years). I got my degree and PhD at Sussex University and have had jobs (well paid science jobs) in Sussex ever since. I have therefore never needed (or wanted) to move away from my family and home town. I lived at home while at university (and therefore had no debts when I left). I bought a house in Lewes when I got my first job.
My question is does this make me odd? Most people in my class at school have moved away etc. I'm sure most of the people I work with think I am somehow deficient because of my lack of 'mobility'.

On 26 Jul 2012 at 2:29pm Rookie wrote:
What does it matter what other people think? I have lived in Lewes for all but 3 work committed years of my life and consider myself fortunate to have been brought up and now living in "Probably the best place in Sussex for people to live" as it says on the home page of this site.
Cue the flak......

On 26 Jul 2012 at 3:14pm Lucky Jim wrote:
Not odd - just lucky to be born here and clever/diligent enough to secure a decent life.
Although there is something to be said of 'travel broadens the mind'.

On 26 Jul 2012 at 3:48pm Louise wrote:
Thanks Rookie and Lucky Jim...yeah sure travel is enjoyable...nice to come home though

On 26 Jul 2012 at 4:54pm Phaedra Isabella wrote:
Not odd at all. Good for you I say, and well done on your successes

On 26 Jul 2012 at 6:39pm Ed Can Do wrote:
Apart from three years at uni, I've lived in Lewes all my life. It's taken me long enough but I finally scraped together enough money to buy a house and although the same amount of cash would have bought a house twice the size in Uckfield or Eastbourne, I'd only ever really want to live in Lewes.

On 26 Jul 2012 at 6:54pm troll wrote: